The four stages of learning

When we learn anything, it can be broken down into four phases. To learn or teach anyhting, it is of benefit to know when each of these four stages are reached to gauge learning:

  1. Unconscious incompetence – You dont know what a car is
  2. Conscious incompetence – You know what a car is, but you dont know how to drive it
  3. Conscious competence – You can drive a car whilst concentrating on how to do it
  4. Unconscious competence – You can drive a car without thinking about it

Can you think of any examples for anything you have learnt recently?


2 Responses to The four stages of learning

  1. Julian says:

    Car 54 where are you? You should easily be at conscious competence by now and accelerating towards unconsciousness. All well I hope.

  2. […] The busiest day of the year was October 9th with 19 views. The most popular post that day was The four stages of learning. […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: