Fin

I shall be sporting this very soon indeed!

So here I am, three years from the crisis that was my dilemma about higher education and I am now at the end of a very successful degree course of study. I have submitted over 70,000 words (or equivalent with alternative medias) and very likley to graduate with Upper second-class Honours this Autumn.

It has been one of the best journeys of my life and I have probably learnt more about myself and my own capabilities than the course content itself. That is not to say I have not learnt much, its just the personal gains have been so great, I feel that I could conquer the world! It may be about 30 working days until I get my marks back, but I remain confident – one such attribute I have developed in this course.

From here, it is onwards to a career in teaching, knowing full well that I have the transferable skills needed to do anything I set my mind to.

P.S, My gift to those still on the course and fellow students joining me in crossing the finishing line, a spreadsheet programmed to work out your final grade, given the weighting of the modules and so on: Mark Calculator (This spreadsheet has nothing to do with Anglia Ruskin University, I made it myself and I cannot guarantee its accuracy. Use as a guide only)

7 Responses to Fin

  1. Julian says:

    Nice one Toby. I shall join you in the bar for a cider later. Just a few words to go and I’ll be there. Well done on making it across the line.

  2. Shirley says:

    The Mark Calculator is a lovely idea for a gift – though I haven’t checked it as I have stick to the official line anyway. I know what you mean about the course content and one of the students we celebrate actually left the course after the first year, having made the fabulous discovery through studying with us that she actually wanted to take a completely different direction in her career. More commonly, BA LTR graduates find that they go with an advantage to postgraduate studies. As a tutor I celebrate every pass, from 3rd to 1st Class and am always a bit sad at the end.

    • Toby says:

      Thanks for the comment. I feel that through the Alumni community and social networks that the experience won’t end, but take a different form. I hope so anyway 🙂

  3. sally says:

    Hi Toby – don’t know about you, but I just got my marks early from Anthony. I have no idea about the weighting for the marks – but really hoping your ‘gift’ is accurate because I may have squeezed a first!! Hope you get your results soon – best of luck

    Sally

    • Toby says:

      Hi Sally,

      I think it is. I know Shirley has seen it and has not said anything other than that it is very useful.

      I got my marks too!!! Assuming the ‘gift’ is accurate, I get a very comfortable 2:1, which I am more than happy with. It has been a very busy year and I am looking forward to graduation!

  4. […] have to confess, as much as I enjoyed my degree and all that I gained from it, there was always a greater goal. A three year journey now comes to a complete close with the above […]

Leave a Reply

